Board Structure & Committees

Following the Annual General Meeting, Alberta Canola’s Board of Directors meets to elect the Chair, Vice-Chair, national representatives, and Committees. The Board meets four times each year and is guided in its decisions by the recommendations from Alberta Canola’s five committees:

Alberta Canola Chair: John Guelly
Alberta Canola Vice-Chair: Kevin Serfas

Governance & Finance

The Governance and Finance Committee is responsible for all aspects of board governance, training, succession planning for the board and General Manager. Policy manual review as well as the annual performance reviews of the General Manager are the responsibility of this committee.

Committee Chair: Kevin Serfas
Mike Ammeter, Roger Chevraux, Ian Chitwood, Holly White, John Guelly*


The Research Committee provides guidance to Alberta Canola for research related activities. This includes meeting Alberta Canola’s goals for agronomic and product development research.  The broad goals for these areas are : find better ways  to grow canola, and find better ways to control pests and find news uses for canola oil and meal. The committee directs research funding through a number of national and provincial partnerships that allow them achieve their goals whilst getting the best leverage of grower dollars

Committee Chair: John Mayko
Dan Doll, Denis Guindon, Cale Staden, John Guelly*

Grower Relations & Extension

The Grower Relations and Extension Committee is responsible for ensuring growers have access to agronomy, marketing and farm management information through its communications program along with event planning and sponsorship. The Committee is also committed to ensuring canola growers, the agriculture industry, and partners are informed of Alberta Canola Producers Commission’s goals, objectives and activities.

Committee Chair: Cale Staden
Denis Guindon, John Mayko, Wayne Schneider, Kevin Serfas, Holly White, John Guelly*

Public Engagement & Promotion

The Public Engagement and Promotion Committee has three main goals: to maintain existing canola markets, increase the demand for canola, and to expand awareness of agriculture, canola production and its role in society.

Committee Chair: Andre Harpe
Ian Chitwood, Wayne Schneider, Cale Staden, Holly White, John Guelly*

Government & Industry Affairs

The Government and Industry Affairs Committee is responsible for promoting canola grower interests at the local, provincial, and national levels. The committee will provide feedback to the Manager of Government & Industry Affairs on initial analysis in order to enrich discussion and development of at board meetings.

Committee Chair: Ian Chitwood
Dan Doll, Mike Ammeter, Roger Chevraux, Denis Guindon, Andre Harpe, Wayne Schneider, John Guelly*

*Alberta Canola Chair resides on all committees

National Representatives

Canola Council of Canada
Kevin Serfas

Canadian Canola Growers Association
Mike Ammeter, Roger Chevraux, Andre Harpe

Western Canadian Canola/Rapeseed Recommending Committee
John Mayko

Provincial Representatives

Agri-Environmental Partnership of Alberta/Crop Sector Working Group
Dan Doll

AgSafe Alberta
Ian Chitwood

FarmTech Foundation of Alberta
Cale Staden

Upcoming Events

Alberta Canola Producers 31st Annual General Meeting

Join the Alberta Canola Producers Commission for their Annual General Meeting.
Jan 26

Responsible Grain Code of Practice Consultations

Three dates added - sign up to join the consultations
Jan 27

Responsible Grain Code of Practice Consultations

Three dates added - sign up to join the consultations
Jan 28
Know Your Grade for Canola

Join our mailing list to receive important news and event updates!

Subscribe to our newsletters