Alberta Canola welcomes 2 new directors

June 7, 2022

(Edmonton, Alberta), June 7, 2022 – Alberta Canola is pleased to announce that Christine McKee of Stirling, and Alan Hampton of Rowley, have been appointed to the Board of the Alberta Canola Producers Commission.

McKee stepped forward to represent the growers in region 9, a role previously held by Kevin Serfas.

Alberta Canola Regions

“The views of canola farmers in the south are important and I am honoured to represent them on the board,” said McKee.

Hampton takes over from Holly White, representing growers in region 12.

“I look forward to working with the other producers on the board to represent the growers in my region,” said Hampton.

“I would like to thank Christine and Alan for putting their names forward and accepting their appointments. We now have farmer directors in all 12 of our regions in Alberta” says Board Chair Roger Chevraux, “their voices will be heard at our June board meeting, which is the first one with our new Executive Director Karla Bergstrom.”

Regions 9 and 12 received no nominations during the fall election cycles, and no candidates stepped forward at the Annual General Meeting, at which point the Board was allowed to appoint directors to represent the regions.

To find and contact your local director, please visit and for information on the Alberta Canola regions visit

The mission of Alberta Canola is to support the long-term success of canola farmers in Alberta through
research, extension, consumer engagement, and advocacy for canola farmers.

Media contact:
Michelle Chunyua, Communications Coordinator
Alberta Canola
(780) 224 – 7970

Upcoming Events

Know Your Grade for Canola

Join our mailing list to receive important news and event updates!

Subscribe to our newsletters